top of page

Voiceless Anthology

2012, Allen & Unwin

A collection of ten shortlisted pieces from the Voiceless Writing Prize, a short story and non-fiction competition, open to Australian writers. Entries focused on animals produced for food or found in the Australian environment. J. M. Coetzee, 2003 Nobel Laureate and twice winner of the Man Booker Prize, chaired the judging panel alongside Voiceless Managing Director, Ondine Sherman; Literary Editor of The Sydney Morning Herald, Susan Wyndham; and former Director of the Sydney Writers Festival, Dr Wendy Were.

This is a selection of lively, engaging and often passionately felt stories and essays revolving around one of the more urgent social and philosophical issues of our times. ”

– J. M. Coetzee, Winner of the 2003 Nobel Prize for Literature,Patron of Voiceless and Chair of the judging panel.

The book was published by Allen & Unwin in 2012.

The joint winners of the competition, and the first two stories in the Anthology, were Wayne Strudwick for Caged and Craig Simpson for Kangaroo. Strudwick’s Caged tells of the horror one boy faces when he encounters the suffering of thousands of caged hens and his struggle to protect them in the face of indifference. Simpson’s Kangaroo details the brutal and traumatic death of a kangaroo and its impact on one woman, changing her life irrevocably.

To purchase via Allen & Unwin 


bottom of page